RC Airplane Hobby

spratt

Lieutenant
Are there any RC airplane hobbyists here on the board? I was once into it a few years back, but never got good and lost a very expensive plane I built by allowing it to get out of range and it just flew off into the wild blue yonder. I did find pieces of it hanging in a tree about a 1/4 mile away after it flew across the freeway from where I was flying in a school football field. My most pleasure comes from actually assembling and finishing the planes.<br /><br />However, I want to now get back into the hobby, and am looking for advice, used (actually UNused) equipment that may be laying around in someone's garage, and your stories or adventures that you have had.

TwoBallScrewBall

Lieutenant Commander
Re: RC Airplane Hobby

I was into this like a sickness (kinda like boating) a few years back. at one time had maybe 20 aircraft, most of which were swap meet and crash rebuild specials, but all flew. I'd like to think I'm a pretty good pilot. Had a few spectacular wrecks in my time. Currently I haven't flown the real thing in about 2 years, but I have 4 aircraft (none of which I have flown yet but all are ready to go). I have a 82" span Edge 540, an 80" or so span Giles 202, a 60-something span Cessna 182, and a 54" or so Cap 232. They are all glow powered 4 strokes, with the exception of the Edge which is a OS 1.60ci glow 2 stroke. The Giles is my pride of the fleet, all metal gear hi torque servos, a 1.80ci Saito four stroke, all highest quality stuff. <br /><br />I do a lot of time on the Great Planes Realflight simulator. I can't say enough good things about this software. It is 100% accurate. How accurate? Well, I had never flown an RC helicopter, and ask anyone who has, it's hard. Much harder than an airplane. Well the realflight software has heli models, and even a trainer mode to teach you. I spent some time on the simulator getting good at the helis, then bought a used heli and hovered it and flew it FIRST TIME OUT. Nobo