Pulpit repair

ssn756

Seaman
I planned on cutting up some pressure treated wood and installing but then I ran into this

bdd4080d.jpg

Don't quite know what it is but it's the next layer over the wood before everything was caulked in looks like it was used to form the contour(i'm no expert).

Also want to know what was or is used to seal the bolt holes? what was in there is still pliable and I think did a decent job.

the whole reason i even went into this thing is because I noticed this

b6c0d5ce.jpg

and this thing is pretty heavy most likely water logged.

another shot of the stuff that's pretty hard and brittle.

2767c7aa.jpg

ssn756

Seaman
Re: Pulpit repair

Is that piece I'm holding in the first picture resin? If it is I'm sure I can build that back up.

Yacht Dr.

Vice Admiral

It looks like some kind of filling compound ( not just resin ) .. kinda like a putty.

Its hard to tell from your pics but it does seem to be used for a solid form fit for the pulpit.

YD.

ssn756

Seaman

It bonded pretty well to the wood and even pulled some strands away from the glass when removed.

The wood was built up as far as it could go and then this compound was used to take up the remaining space.

Can I just use some resin with filler to do the same?

Yacht Dr.

Vice Admiral

I dont see why not.. just add some chopped up mat in your mix to make it less brittle..

YD.

G

ssn756 I to have the same problem with the pulpit on my boat and need to repair/replace the wooden interior part of it. If it is as easy as you say it was maybe I just might tackle mine as well.

ssn756

Seaman

I dont see why not.. just add some chopped up mat in your mix to make it less brittle..

YD.

Will do

ssn756 I to have the same problem with the pulpit on my boat and need to repair/replace the wooden interior part of it. If it is as easy as you say it was maybe I just might tackle mine as well.