Proper beaching techniques?

JKEP44

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hello, I am fairly new to boating (one full season) and wanted some information on the proper way to beach a boat. Let me explain. I have a 21.5ft deep V-hull boat that I frequently take down to the coast. I see people all of the time parking just off little islands and I would really like to do the same. Is there a proper way to park a boat in the sand like that or are these people tearing up their equipment. Right now I just anchor offshore and ride an inflatable raft over but this can be kinda tricky for my wife and I not to get wet. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Richard Petersen

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: Proper beaching techniques?

Beaching any boat is NO good for it. Obvious problem is when you leave with any wind pushing you into the shore. You have to lower the drive and the the prop stirs up the sand which you drive thru. It goes into the water pump and settles in corners of the block or the thermostat. The bottom finish gets a good scrubbing with sand paper. None of this is severe damage. It is just not good.

saumon

Lieutenant