pretty dumb question

tbone1987

Seaman Apprentice
i am new to the site and love all the knowledge i am getting on outboard motors but i have a dumb question. i have a 1969 evinrude fastwin 18 hp. i just got the boat and got the motor to fire after cleaning the carb and putting in new plugs. the impeller was bad and i have new 1 on the way. i have found a cracked line that goes into my block underneath the fuel filter and goes into the block under the carb on the other end. i got a manuel from someone on here and determined that its a oil line. i am goin to replace the line but my dumb question is how do i eplace the oil i have lost out of the line. i ran it for bout 2 min in a barrel and shut down when no water was coming out of the tell tale. could it have hurt my motor not having oil to the block? how the do i replace oil being a 2 stroke the oil is premix. remember this is my first outboard repair and im brand new to all this. thanks for the info and please donty make fun of me. lol

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
Re: pretty dumb question

I seriously doubt that you hurt your motor running it for two minutes. Two stroke engines are very durable and will not overheat that quickly.

wifisher

Chief Petty Officer

I would just premix a few gallons of gas for the initial run. That way the motor is lubricated and no worries about the cracked line. Replace your impeller, get the cooling system working, and then run for a while on the premix. Watch to be sure the oil starts feeding through the line you replaced. If it does you are good to go. Don't worry about the premix at this point just run it through and no need to mix after that.

jonesg

Admiral

I don't know what that line is but its not an oil line, there are none on older non VRO engines.
Sounds like fuel feed or vac if it is equipped with a fuel pump.