Pre-alpha (MC-1) mercruiser 165 not turning over

porchlight

Seaman Apprentice
Hello all,

I've been working on my mercruiser for a few months now and I finally made some headway. Made a triumphant post about it but it turns out I spoke too soon! Now I'm back to having different issues, so I'm back to a new post about what's going on :)

Last issue was turning the key and getting a big click... ended up being the big solenoid. Got that figured out and got it to turn over, and I figured things were good... but no such luck. Shortly after, I was back to getting ZERO sound when turning the key. I traced that to some dirty contacts on my other solenoid, and cleaned them, and how I'm definitely getting juice to my starter motor. When I turn the key, I hear it zipping along. But the actual engine won't turn over!

One thing that was mentioned to me in my last post was insight from Bondo who noted that:

"The solenoid does 2 things at once... Not only does it pass power to the starter, it also shoves the bendix drive into the flywheel to turn the motor over"

So, I feel like this must be a good place to start. The sounds I'm getting definitely make me think that the bendix drive isn't engaging. Unfortunately, I don't know much about these drives. So I have a few questions so I can narrow down my search:

1) Which solenoid is the bendix drive connected to? I understand that I have two solenoids–a smaller one, and a larger one that's connected to the starter motor. Is it the smaller one or the larger one? I wonder if it's just an issue of dirty connections.

2) Is there any way to manually engage this drive so I can test things out?

Thank you!!

nola mike

Vice Admiral