Possible ficticious website

dunepray

Recruit
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
1
New here, so I apologize for being naive. I have been looking online at many websites for used boat sales and came across boatdepot.org. Has anyone out here had any experience with this website? The prices of boats there seem exceedingly low, and I thought that it may be ficticious or fraudulent. What are the best websites?

Thanks,
Dunepray
 

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Joined
Aug 31, 2004
Messages
62,321
Re: Possible ficticious website

I wouldn't trust it. I tried the site, and seen that it had a contact us in Spain. When I went back nothing would come up and the domain name was for sale. If they are in Spain, why would they be selling US boats. Sounds to me like they are in business to put your money in their pocket and boats have nothing to do with it.

http://www.fraudwatchers.org/forums/showthread.php?t=16149

http://www.thehulltruth.com/boating-forum/173237-beware-boatsdepot-org-scam-please-read.html#b
 

Mikeyboy

Chief Petty Officer
Joined
Mar 15, 2012
Messages
475
Re: Possible ficticious website

I've never heard of the site but my experience has always been if it seems to good to be true it usually is especially when dealing with the Internet.
 

shrew

Lieutenant
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
1,309
Re: Possible ficticious website

The domain isn't actually for sale. It is parked by SEDO's which includes a link that the domain MAY be for sale. There is no page other than the parked page answering to requests for host WWW or boatdepot domain within the ORG TLD. BTW- I suspect this is bogus post as well. The OP states the prices are extremely low, however when you hit either the site with or without WWW it stills reverts to the parked page. So how does one browse a selection of inexpensive boats on a single page site which is parked?? AND the OP has only ONE post.

Fishing? Trying to get the serach provider bots to pickup his website and return it in searches??
 
Top