Please help - water issue

RickyRick100

Cadet
Hey guys, I have a 21' Chris Craft Sea Hawk 215. I had my boat out of the water for about 3 weeks and just dropped it 2 days ago. I had a bout a 30 - 40 minute run from the marina to my dock. I had some minor tuneup work to the motor. The boat has been out back docked for 2 days and I went out there this evening and noticed there was about an inch or so of water in the small storage space when you first step down into the cuddy cabin. When you step down into the cuddy cabin and turn around there is a small area below where you step up on to the deck that is about 2 1/2 feet wide by 2 feet deep. I'm assuming this is a storage area. Not sure what else it can be. Sorry, I am new to boating and don't know all the terminology. Anyways, I pumped out about 3 gallons of water from this area. There is a small step in the cuddy cabin were the step lifts up in front of this space and there is a bilge pump down in the V of the hull. Totally works but water wasn't high enough to kick the bilge on. I decided while I had the small portable bilge pump to pump this water out as well. I pumped out another 7 or 8 gallons. Also, the inside top of the storage area which is the deck above when you step out was wet which I was surprised. I took off all 4 deck plates and it is bone dry. No water below the back deck plate below the motor. Bone dry and the bilge works fine. I had both side fishing rod boxes off and it is bone dry in there as well. I have no clue where this water is coming from and I'm very concerned... The hull is in GREAT shape. Any idea what this water is or where it's coming from? Is there an inner and outer hull??? Can water be trapped in between hulls? My neighbor said it's possible that if the gunnel molding is dry rotted or not caulked correctly that when I'm moving water can get up under the gunnel molding. I'm not convinced this is what it is. Should I be concerned??? Again, I am new to boating and learning as I go. Any