Planing problems - help needed!

SeaRayViking

Seaman Apprentice
Sorry, if these issues seem obvious or ridiculous, but i'm relatively new at this.

I've bought a 1989 20ft Sea Ray 200cc. A lovely small (but quite heavy)cruiser with a Mercruiser 4.3lx with 205 hp. The boat was originally equipped with an Aplha One gen. 1-drive (gear 1:84) and i 've just mounted a used, but well-working 1:84-drive.
According to Sea Ray's operator's manual the boat with equipped with a 3-blade prop with a 13, 75" dia and 21" pitch.
However when i bought her it was fittet with a 5-blade High-Five with a 23" pitch.
Everything seems to work just fine. Gears, RPMs, oil pressure - everything - but she really struggles to get up on plane!!?? And with three persons in the boat it takes forever!!?? (The sound of the eninge gets really dark just before it gets out of the water - and after that it just sails like a dream)
Can anyone give me a hint about what might be wrong?
Thanks

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Planing problems - help needed!

Try a 21" pitched prop,....... Or even a 19".........

A 23" is Obviously Too Big........

SeaRayViking

Seaman Apprentice

Hi and thanks for the reply,

I thought it was that I had to do-
how ever , I was just quite confused, because i talked to two prop-dealers.. One of them told me that if the boat "born" with a 21" three-blade, then i should definitely use the same pitch or bigger - if i was to use a 5-blade High-Five prop... And of course the next dealer i talked to, told me exact opposite -like you say; downsize to about 19"...

Would downsizing not increase RPM? (It actually can take another 300-400 @ wot)

Jdeagro

iboats.com Partner

First of all we need to assume your engine is running OK.
Second, we should know what RPMs you are able to get at full throttle, and what is the recommended RPM range.

Third, you are looking to climb out of the hole easier, and here you have two choices; Climb out of the hole or eliminate the hole.