Picking up a battery.

SportPhish31

Seaman Apprentice
I'm pretty new to owning a boat so I have a lot of questions if y'all haven't noticed yet. Anyways when I went to go buy my boat they battery was dead so I pulled my battery out of my car and dropped it in. I turn the key and nothing. The outdrive hydraulics worked fine though. Is this normal? I didn't hook it up that well idk if that effect much. What type of battery would my 17' searay Seville need also?

impatico

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Picking up a battery.

you may missed a wire, or it wasn't a good enough connection.

what happened when you tried to start? any clicks?

as for what battery to buy, what electronics would be running off this battery? I am a huge Optima fan, the shortest one has lasted for me was 10ish years, and they won't break down from vibrations

LippCJ7

Vice Admiral

One of the things we do as men is try to cut corners, the problem is when you do that with electricity those corners can cause issues, the first thing I would do is make sure you have made good connections, without the connections being solid the electricity cannot flow properly and can cause the very issues you are seeing.

cpubud

Chief Petty Officer

was the safty lanyard inplace ?

SportPhish31

Seaman Apprentice

Im prolly gonna put in LEDs but that's no issue really. I actually don't know if it even has a safety lanyard. Its a 86 searay. What type I've battery should I get? Like voltage and stuff?

5150abf

Vice Admiral

The simple answer is the biggest one you can afford, you can't get too big of a battery but you can get one that is too small and make sure it is a marine battery, they are built a bit heavier than a car battery because boats take such a beating.