Outboard hp for 15 Sport...?

panamapaul

Recruit
Was thinking of putting a Suzuki 30hp 4-stroke on a 15 Sport I have but a lot of people say I should go for 50hp or 60 hp…? That seems kind of overkill to me but I’m not a boating expert. I don’t plan on pulling water skiers or anything. We’re just talking about a 15 foot boat here! I’ve seen the same boat with much less than 30hp on it and performing what I thought was reasonable well. Actual down here in Central America where I’m at 30hp is considered a monster by their standards but state side advice mostly leans towards much bigger is better..? What kind of performance could I expect out of a 30hp motor with two or 3 guys out leisure recreational boating? My boats a Central American Whaler copy without the foam coring or a center consol just going to be a tiller outboard. Just has a low profile floor, a rear bench seat and small bow locker. The fiberglass is a bit beefier than stock to compensate for lack of coring. Without the motor it’s around 600lbs or so. I’m not looking for blister speed or hole shots. I just want an economical outboard with decent performance. Seems a little much to hang a 250lb to 300lb engine on a 600lb boat! Am I wrong or not..? Any advice greatly appreciated.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Outboard hp for 15 Sport...?

Hi Paul,<br /><br />"My boats a Central American Whaler copy without the foam coring or a center consol just going to be a tiller outboard."<br /><br />That means it is not a Boston Whaler, Paul. That is very important.<br /><br />30hp will probably be quite adequate for what you want to do.<br /><br />Good luck. :)

hustler70

Cadet

once you get used to the boat 30 hp probably wont be enough. i run a 2cyl 60 on my 13. If you want to pull skiers or have passangers i would go with a 3cyl 70-75. It wil give you plenty of power and and wont be too much weight for the hull

JB