OMC Cobra gimbal bearing

kazanka

Cadet
Hello everyone. I am new to boats and this season I have to change the gimbal bearing on by 5.7 OMC Cobra.<br /><br />I did buy a gimbal bearing, the one that can swivel out of the outer race along with the grease seal that came with the package.<br /><br />I have the following questions then:<br /><br />1. The guy i bought the bearing from says I have to pull the old bearing with the outer race, not just swivel it out. Is this really necessary or just replacing the bearing itself is good enough? In the following link this method is referred to as "Method A": <br /> http://mercstuff.com/gimbalbearing.htm <br /><br />2. If I just swivel the old bearing out, can I still replace the grease seal behind it?<br /><br />3. How often would one change the grease seal?<br /><br />4. I don't seem to be able to get the new bearing out of the race by hand. How would I do that?<br /><br />Thanks everybody.

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner
Re: OMC Cobra gimbal bearing

1 & 4) You more than likely have to pull the old bearing. They rarely face the bearing race so that you can tilt it out. I would replace the whole bearing assembly anyway. It is not that hard to do.<br /><br />2 & 3) The grease seal is not that critical to change. I never bother with it.

Gary H NC

Fleet Admiral

The bearing race is just as important to replace as the bearing itself.If the old bearing is worn the race is also.It would be like putting new brake pads on old worn out rotors...

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner

The outer race is only used for tilting. There is another inner race where the bearings roll on.

kazanka

Cadet

bruceb58, thanks a lot for info.<br /><br />When you say they never face the bearing race, does it mean that my new bearing will not likely fit in the old race?<br /><br />Thanks again.

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner

The opening is facing the wrong way so you won't be able to tilt the old one out.

kazanka

Cadet