Older Johnson Seahorse help please new member

Thank you for looking.
I have an older Johnson, it has a pull start, but also a red "push switch" and it works.

The other day, I was putting the battery in after the winter, and off came a red small cable that seemed to come from nowhere.

Without the wire attached, of course the push button wouldn't work anymore. After I removed the cover, I saw it could only have come from one place, and I assumed it was suppose to be attached to the other side, like the other one, 2 cables attached.

However, this did not work.

I thought maybe the switch need to be put back on properly ( to ground) but that wasn't the case either.

I am no electrician, and I am very reluctant about putting that fallen cable on the other side, meaning there would be 3 cables attached, and I don't want to burn the wires up.

Also, when I did attach this cable to the side that it seemed to fall off of, when i attach the cable to the battery, it wants to start just by touching the wire to the battery, so this doesn't make sense, because it seems to be by passing the switch and starting on its own.

Sorry for the long explanation, but the question is......where does this other cable go to?

Below I am pointing to the thinner cable of the 2 red wires, in case your wondering which goes where.

Thank you.

Attachments

• P1040475.jpeg
    P1040475.jpeg
    3 MB · Views: 18
  • P1040526.jpeg
    P1040526.jpeg
    3.2 MB · Views: 17
  • P1040529.jpeg
    P1040529.jpeg
    3.7 MB · Views: 17

racerone

Supreme Mariner
That would be a 1980 model.-----Hooking up wires by guessing can lead to expensive smoke / repairs.-----You need to find a wiring diagram for it.----Very easy for me to sort this out.----But for some reason wires and 12 volts are difficult to explain from my desk.

I know what you mean, that is why I took so much time to explain.

Again, simple, there are 4 wires.

One fell off.