Nothing like an Apache Gatling gun... WOW

Homerr

Commander
I want one of these!<br /><br />WARNING: The video may not be suitable for the PC or left-wing crowd... It contains scary guns that we (the tax payer) paid for and trained our military to use: :) :D <br /><br /> http://www.big-boys.com/articles/iraqfootage.html <br /><br />It's a 5mb download... Sorry 56K users :( <br /><br /><br />H.

Laddies

Banned
Re: Nothing like an Apache Gatling gun... WOW

Homer you should see a Vulcan on a Warthog pound a hole in a tank and its only a 30mm I belive---Bob :D

rodbolt

Supreme Mariner

hello<br /> yep cool weapons. as a former CIWS tech I tend to like the m61A1 a tad more, you should see the effects of a .495 Dia subcaliber depleted uranium round from a 20mm m61A1 on a tank much less a missle or an aircraft. but due to ammo constraints we cycled ours at 1500 rounds per min.

OBJ

Supreme Mariner

The 7.62 gattling guns I worked with in Nam were rated at 6k rounds a minute.....but were seldom ever fired at that rate. If a pattern was needed, the pilot simply selected two, three or four out of four guns and fired away. They usually fired in burst of 5 sec duration. Lots of land re-development were done with these weapons.

rodbolt

Supreme Mariner

the M61A1 20mm in a CIWS application cycles at 1500 rounds per min. I think the rounds then cost about 28 dollars a pop. that was for the depleted uranium. I understad the aircraft version of the M61A1 cycles at 6000 rounds per minute. makes a heckuva noise :) :)

gonfishn

Commander

Amazing how technology has developed over the last thirty five years..And I thought Puff the Magic Dragon was the ultimate back then..Now look at the new toys that are available for our enjoyment..

rodbolt

Supreme Mariner