noob question about winterizing in the south

Sgt_P

Cadet
I live in South Carolina (just outside of Charlotte, NC), and we trailer our 18' I/O. It stays parked under a carport when not in use.

My question is, instead of winterizing (draining the engine), could I just run a drop cord shop light (40w bulb) to the engine compartment for the rare nights it gets down to hard freeze temps (which is extremely rare in my neck of the woods)???

Again, I'm a noob, so I'm looking to be yelled at if this is stupid or dangerous (but I want to know why too...)

pckeen

Commander
Re: noob question about winterizing in the south

Hi, there are those that do this, and you may well be fine, but personally I wouldn't - what if the bulb burns out....you forget to turn it on....you go away for a few days and there is a cold snap...

carey965

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Just drain the motor that way your not always worrying about it. And it only takes a few minutes. Personally I think it's easier to drain the motor and it won't cost you on your hydro

crabby captain john

Lieutenant Commander

I live on the SE NC coast. You get a little colder there than we do but some people here do what you suggest as they will hit the water at times year round.

smokeonthewater

Fleet Admiral

heck... on many engines you can drain em in the same time as it takes to run the cord out for the light..... as stated above... power outage, forgot, bulb burns out, cord knocked out of outlet all lead to needing a new engine.... not worth the risk IMHO

z28

Cadet

Drain it & you want be sorry.

Bondo

Staff member

heck... on many engines you can drain em in the same time as it takes to run the cord out for the light..... as stated above... power outage, forgot, bulb burns out, cord knocked out of outlet all lead to needing a new engine.... not worth the risk IMHO

Ayuh,.... Air don't freeze, but the power Does go out in bad weather,...

ziggy

Admiral

i'm with the drain it crowd.