Newbie Question 91 Sea Nymph SS175 Fish N Ski

Wookie69

Cadet
Well I just got the boat and the deck is shot, upon lifting up the carpet I found something that really made me laugh. I want to share it with you all so here it is, I this is my first time rebuilding a boat but when I lifted up the carpet I found tongue and groove cheap fake hardwood flooring laid over top of the rotten deck, and might I add they followed the instructions from the manufacturer and put a layer of of that foam underlayment.

So with that being said, I know I don't qualify for the StarCraft club.

My question so far is on the stern of my boat it has approximately 30" of aluminum sheathing that make the engine well and basically nothing else but wasted unreachable space that a person has to crawl on their belly under to just put a battery in this boat. Is this section actually structural to the boat? Can I remove it to get to the transom, and replace the area with custom desigh for the batteries and possible bait well?

Thank you in advance. I am loving the reading so far and I am sure I will have more questions going forward.

NoKlu

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: Newbie Question 91 Sea Nymph SS175 Fish N Ski

The Stringers and the transom should be the only structural parts of the boat in that area. I would cut the sheathing and put in a piano hinge for access. Don't forget to get us some pics of the custom flooring as we usually only see that kind of thing on larger Yachts.:D

109jb

Lieutenant Commander

I think he is talking about the splashwell. If so, don't remove it.

Wookie69

Cadet

The hardwood fake flooring was swelled up like 7 day old roadkill, I removed it quickly before the neighbors could see it and laugh me out of the neighborhood. Yes I am talking about the splashwell, is it structural or can the area be customized with structural aluminum and fiberglass to create storage etc, I would also like to add flotation in the rear gunnel area.

Wookie69

Cadet