Newbie here!

theviking64

Seaman
Hey all. This is my newly acquired 79 Starcraft Super Sport. My Dad bought it new in 1979 so I have had some great times in it. It hasnt been on the water since 2008, and then 5 years prior to that. I just started on it today, cleaning and such. Has new carpet and flooring, had all the rivets checked and repaired. I have to pull the fuel tank and clean it out, then work on the motor a bit. Hopefully will be on the lake in 2-3 weeks. Not bad for 32 years old. Any other info or advice from you guys will be appriciated.

2011-07-04_12-36-39_332.jpg

2011-07-04_12-36-49_393.jpg

2011-07-04_12-36-25_829.jpg

2011-07-04_12-37-24_662.jpg

Pugetsound

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Newbie here!

Every thing looks and is origional , even the motor Great combo. Get a spray can of Evenrude carb cleaner follow instructions and you should be good to go. Even seats and carpet look new. Hay all in the family is a neat way to go. Enjoy, and take your Dad out a time or two.

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

Beautiful boat! That's gotta be a rocket with that 150 on it.

theviking64

Seaman

Thanks for the info. It is all pretty much original. I'm sure I will be asking more questions before this is completed. I can wait to post some pics of it in the water. As far as the engine goes, My Dad bought the boat new with that motor. A few months later the dealer contacted him and said he needed to bring the boat in and they would install a smaller motor on it for free because that outboard was found to be too much for the transom. We beefed up the transom and have had no problem at all.

heyyou325

Chief Petty Officer

That's really a nice looking old boat. May not take 2 to 3 weeks. Put some sea foam in the gas, and spray some in the carb with it running either does a good job of cleaning a carb. Hows the decking, any soft spots, from sitting, or was it garaged the whole time. Welcome aboard.

Pugetsound

Lieutenant Commander