New to boating! Michigan-area SCUBA diver.

KD8NPB

Cadet
Hello!

I'm fairly new to boating and have a little experience. I live in Southwest Michigan, about 25 miles east of Lake Michigan itself.

I am looking for an inflatable to putter around Michigan's inland lakes and rivers... MAYBE out on Lake Michigan itself on calm days, but never too far from shore. The primary two uses for the boat would be a platform to SCUBA dive from and for fishing. Passenger-wise, I'm looking to transport 2 people comfortably, although capacity for up to 4 (uncomfortably) would be great.

My main setback is my lack of budget. I would like to spend less than $1000, but at the same time, get something that is fairly durable.

It is my understanding that PVC is the best material? The thicker the better?
What should I look for in an inflatable?
What makes / models should I look at?
How hard is it to repair an inflatable? (I'm an experienced mechanic)

Other tidbits, I decided to volunteer for the Coast Guard Auxiliary this year, although I'm still waiting for my paperwork to officially go through so I can begin training. I'm also an amateur radio operator, callsign KD8NPB.

Thank you!

Mlmg

Cadet
Re: New to boating! Michigan-area SCUBA diver.

Hello!

I'm fairly new to boating and have a little experience. I live in Southwest Michigan, about 25 miles east of Lake Michigan itself.

I am looking for an inflatable to putter around Michigan's inland lakes and rivers... MAYBE out on Lake Michigan itself on calm days, but never too far from shore. The primary two uses for the boat would be a platform to SCUBA dive from and for fishing. Passenger-wise, I'm looking to transport 2 people comfortably, although capacity for up to 4 (uncomfortably) would be great.

My main setback is my lack of budget. I would like to spend less than $1000, but at the same time, get something that is fairly durable.