New to boating and happy about it

pilotmanmk11

Cadet
Hi to everyone, I am new to boating in general and happy to be part of this wonderful group. I found this site yesterday and the only complaint I have is i don't get things done at work. Anyway I have always wanted a boat and not having a lot of my own money I decided to build a boat and use my awesome woodworking skills. I was talking to my cousin about it and asking him if he had some rough cut lumber on his farm along with trailer parts I would need for the trailer he said he had just what I needed. He told me he had an old boat trailer that has been on the farm since I was little and told me o could have it as long as I took everything attached to it. Well I no longer have to build a boat because the trailer came with a boat. I now have a 16ft fiberglass Tri Hull Starcraft. I am unsure of the model at this moment because I don't have the boat right now, I still need to pick it up. It is not the prettiest boat but i have always wanted a boat and I love fixing things up.

Like I said the boat is a 16 ft fiberglass Tri Hull Starcraft with a 25 horse Chrysler outboard. It has a rounded bow and also has a built in live well. It has nothing on the inside (was gutted to be fixed but not finished).

I am a college student with alot of time during the year, after I do my Homework of course. I want to fix it up for a fishing/cruiser/all round boat. I don't have a lot of extra cash, because I'm in college but can get things I need, I pretty Thrifty. I have access to people who know engines and any tools I need. I am a very hardworking and really mechanical and a jack of all trades. I have no problem with this project and glad i have all you for help. I have no pics at the moment but will keep you all posted on my progress. I thank you all in advance for any input and reading the novel i just wrote. I am just really excited to get started on something I have always wanted to do.