NEW BOATER WITH ISSUES.... NEED PROP OPINIONS, MAYBE MORE

IIslow66

Recruit
I'm new to boating and now to this site, although I've already searched and learned a lot! So, I picked up my first boat 18' open bow bayliner with a 2 barrel 4.3/ alpha one and a 17p prop. Issues first were misfiring/backfiring at 3/4 throttle. The marine shop the previous owner took it to replaced;fuel filter, plugs, rebuilt carb and it still had issues. I purchased the boat as is and I did a little visual inspection and found cylinder 4 plug wire really corroded. Installed a cap, rotor, wires, new plugs gapped to.035, set idle to 650rpm and timed it to 8? btdc and fully advance hits 26? now it runs like a champ but will over Rev heavily at full throttle. I can hammer it and get from 4500-5500rpm in a second and the engine pops /backfires at higher rpms. I know max rpm is 4300-4800. The engine never backfires/pops/misfires between 650-4800rpm after my tune up. At 4800 I can only get 30 mph on the GPS. Questions; does the thunderbolt IV have a Rev limiter causing this popping/backfire? Any opinions on prop or anything else to get this thing working more efficiently?

Last edited:

CV16

Chief Petty Officer
I can't answer your rev limiter question, but I'd try to borrow a 21 pitch prop and see how that works out for you. Keep the 17 for pulling rubes or skiers but watch the tach and don't over rev the motor. There are reasons they have a max rpm.

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
It appears to me that a 2 barrel 4.3 would have a 1.81 ratio.With a 1.81 there is about a 20% slip and at 1.62 slip would be about 30% at 4800 30 mph.
The numbers make me suspect the tach is not accurate.

SeaDooSam

Chief Petty Officer
It appears to me that a 2 barrel 4.3 would have a 1.81 ratio.With a 1.81 there is about a 20% slip and at 1.62 slip would be about 30% at 4800 30 mph.
The numbers make me suspect the tach is not accurate.