Need some hull repair advise please!

lil_jason17

Cadet
I need to fix this. I'm hoping to just fill this with some sort of epoxy. Opinions?

Attachments

• 0418111754a.jpg
    0418111754a.jpg
    137.1 KB · Views: 0

rickryder

Commander
Re: Need some hull repair advise please!

I don't think filling it is going to work....You have water infiltration in your hull and foam.... This may/will require patching from the inside and out.... I will let someone else with more knowledge on this type of repair chime in....

Yacht Dr.

Vice Admiral

It would not be advisable to just fill this. You should remove from the trailer and grind and glass. How big of a repair area will be determined on how much glass is busted up under the gelcoat ( your going to have to do some grinding to remove the gel to see the extent of the damage ).

Also..can you get to the inside in that area ? What kind of boat ? GW ?

YD.

Jagid

Cadet

I'm just a newbie around here, but I'd like to see the experts response to this also.

this is my best GUESS

1 mold a heated piece of waxed plexiglass around the bottom of the boat where the hole is, a couple inches larger than the hole in all dimensions

2 remove the foam above the hole inside the boat, grind and feather the fiberglass around that hole (from inside the boat)

3. wax the snot out of that piece of plexiglass, and then clamp/duct tape it to the hull on the outside.

4. startin with a piece of resin soaked glass cloth just bigger than the whole, lay it in there, and repeat, with each piece of cloth being bigger in all dimensions than the one before, untill your last piece of cloth fills the entire feathered bit.

5. pull off that waxed plexiglass after the glass+resin has set..

6. sand and fair from outside...

am I close? experts?

Jagid

Cadet

dang.. while i was typing Yacht Dr was posting.

lil_jason17

Cadet