Need help getting out of the hole quicker

Brian Avery

Cadet
Hey guys I'm a rookie here just bought my first boat ever, it's an 1986 Stratos 375V with a Mercury XR2 BlackMax 150 this thing is extremely slow out of the hole and stands nearly straight up before planning out I know it has to do with the prop and it's pitch it has a quick silver 24p 3 Blade max speed so far is the low 50's at 5000 rpm I'm fine with top end I'm not a speed demon on the water just want a faster hole shot any and all help appreciated

floater212

Petty Officer 2nd Class
what size and weight of boat? if not a speed demon drop down at least 1 pitch size... but how many in boat, what are you doing( skiing, tubing or wakeboarding)? where is most of your load, if it's in the back rearrange it so it's more evenly distributed, too much in back and nose is up, too much in front and nose down. did you adjust the trim at all or is it set too high? same thing, if it's trimmed too high, nose up and trimmed down, nose down. a lot more info would help....

89retta

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Your about 1000 rpms to low. Drop down to a 21 pitch. Should bring your rpms up to 5600 . Your holeshot will improve and you should be about the same top speed

Brian Avery

Cadet
strictly a fishing boat, yes I've played with the trim and i can pick up speed when i find the sweet spot, most of the time 2 people in boat, 17ft bass boat not sure about the total weight but its a small boat most of the weight is in the back. I was told the boat would run 65 WOT haven't saw that yet the fastest its ran is 55 at 5000 rpm.

Brian Avery

Cadet
I been doing some looking around the BlackMax xr2 150 should run best between 6000 to 7000 rpm please correct me if I am wrong. I dont even get close to 6000 5000 is the max i get will the 21p get me in that range

Scott06

Vice Admiral