Military Questions

kenimpzoom

Rear Admiral
You always see in the movies that a new guy calls one of the higher ups "sir" and the higherup responds, dont call me sir I work for a living.<br /><br />What exactly does that mean?<br /><br />Also, what is the difference between a NCO and a regular officer?<br /><br />Ken

Drowned Rat

Captain
Re: Military Questions

Enlisted people hate being called sir because only officers are called that. You could have a salty old Master Chief Petty Officer in the service for 25 years whom everybody respects and technically he has to call the 1st year Ensign sir and salute him. That might help you understand why the Master Chief doesn't want to be called sir.<br /><br />An NCO (non commisioned officer) is an enlisted person rank E-4 to E-10. They don't take the same oath that officers do.<br /><br />Officers are rank O-1 to O-10. They have a college degree and/or have been to officer candidate school.<br /><br />An officer always outranks an enlisted man regardless of time in service. Only officers are called sir and you only salute officers. The one exception is Medal of Honor winners. You always salute these heros enlisted or officer.

eurolarva

Rear Admiral

Officers dont work, they delegate. That is where the expression dont call me sir I work for a living came from

kenimpzoom

Rear Admiral

OK now I understand, but have another question.<br /><br />How does one become and officer? Are you invited, or can you move up from enlisted ranks to officer ranks by taking a test and meet qualifications?<br /><br />Ken

eurolarva

Rear Admiral