Merc 3.0 shifting issues

Jsiples

Seaman
Merc 140 hp I4, I previously adjusted the lower shift cable and had fwd,neutral,rev on muffs. Took if out this past weekend. First time trying to shift out of forward to neutral no shift ( stayed in forward ). Then as the day went on after shutting down engine then putting in neutral....it would start in neutral. Even on a few occasions I was able to go through gears while running but was extremely difficult to shift. I had to muscle it to get to neutral from forward. I did notice that the idle was way high at about 1400 so I adjusted that and it helped a bit. I checked the kill switch in the rear and it is functioning. I am just wondering if I need to make another adjustment on the lower shift cable or if on the lower unit the mechanism in there is off. I had the lower unit off over the winter and it looked okay but I am not an expert either. Any advice would be helpful.

tommays

Admiral
Re: Merc 3.0 shifting issues

Your idle should be in the 650 RPM range in gear ,high RPM shifts will really beatup the drive

How old is the lower shift cable ? (the one going to the drive ) they bind up and the liner wears with age and can not be adjusted to fix OLD :) and need to replaced to shift correctly ;)

Tommays

Haut Medoc

Supreme Mariner

Are you talking about the shift interrupter switch?
If so, what tests did you perform to verify that it working correctly?
What you are describing is (to me) a classic case of a bad switch....
Ie, won't come out of gear under load
Is this a new cable?........;)

Jsiples

Seaman