Looking to Buy Used PWC... Need Advice

Bulbash

Petty Officer 1st Class
Looking to get a used PWC... My budget is around $10k. I am very new to seadoos. I drove them a few times... But that about it. However, I own a boat... What are the differences in brands? What should I pay attention when I look at these machines?

JimS123

Fleet Admiral
Re: Looking to Buy Used PWC... Need Advice

Jet Skis are fast and agile. Service life is OK, but the dealer network isn't as good. Poor storage capacity. Lots of youngsters love them though.

Waverunners are bulletproof and easy to maintain. Good dealer network. Good fuel economy. Maybe not as stable as some others. Medium storage capacity. A good "family" cruiser.

SeaDoos have a bad rep for breaking down, but current 4-stroke models are also bulletproof. (hard to live down a bad rep sometimes). Dealer network is the best. Best ergos and appearance. Best seating comfort. Best overall ride and handling.

IMHO, there are only 2 choices - between a Seadoo or a Yamaha. Kawasaki is passable, so second choice. Honda is ugly as sin, and no dealers around. Any of the others are junk.

Take a ride on the two I mentioned. The Yamai will be fun, but the Seadoo will make you yell "yeehaaa" and not want to stop the demo ride.

Whatever you do, don't buy used unless it was owned by an old lady who had it serviced monthly by her son the dealer (LOL). Many (if not most) PWCers don't know how to maintain them and drive them into the ground. For a 10K budget you could buy the top of the line S-D GTI. Unless you're a speed hound, it should provide satisfactory performance. A second choice would be a Yami FX.

We've been riding for 20+ years and have owned several differernt models. Others may have a different opinion - its just like Ford vs. Chevy.

Bulbash

Petty Officer 1st Class

What should I inspect when I buy one? What kind of maintenance it requires? Any common isues that I should watch for?

JimS123

Fleet Admiral