link and sync

Tadd_P

Petty Officer 3rd Class
ok read the faq on this and understand it all except for one thing. I have never used a timing light before im sure i could figure it out but could use some help here guys
the engine i am working on is a
1979 mercury inline 6 outboard 115 hp but this particular model does not have a distributor it has a trigger that runs the advance timing i believe can anyone here help me please???

Tadd_P

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: link and sync

that easy huh?
i believe my timing mark thing is adjustable though how do i know its in the right spot and how do i set it to the 3-4 degrees BTDC advance as it says?

Tadd_P

Petty Officer 3rd Class

it is a 115 hp mercury outboard inline 6 serial 5415780

gidds

Seaman Apprentice

that easy huh?
i believe my timing mark thing is adjustable though how do i know its in the right spot and how do i set it to the 3-4 degrees BTDC advance as it says?

I have the same question for a 1971 Model 1350 serial number in the 311XXX range (cant get it right now)......not to hi-jack the post, only to share information as we have the same issue....

Thanks in advance

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner

Gidds, I believe your timing marks are on the cowling support and are not adjustable. Find the Link and Sync post in the FAQ and have at it.

gidds

Seaman Apprentice

Borderline thread hi-jacking.....(I think these questions fit in to the how do I use a timing light category)

1) narrative says "remove all plugs except #1"......does that mean remove actual plugs, or just wires?

2) narrative says "hook timing light to #1"......does that mean hook to #1 wire or #1 plug with no wire attached?

3) In the narrative I do not see "start the engine".....does this or when does this happen? (I bet some of you ar shaking your head at this question, but I am used to gunpowder powered devices not gasoline powered devices)