Jet Star Rebuild

GT2010

Seaman
My son was given a 1975 Ouachita fiberglass boat with a 1965 Johnson Motor and trailer. The boat is in bad condition, so we will retire it to a friends pond to hold a trolling motor. Transom is mush. Plus, I have zero experience or knowledge in fiberglass restoration. The motor has sat for years, but cranked right up and moved through its gears with ease.

We found a Jet Star two days later and purchased it for 300.00. Based on the pictures, does anyone know the year? We ripped out the deck and it has one knee brace, not three like I see on some of the other restorations of JetStars.

Our plan is to rebuild and install the 40 HP Johnson. Below are some pics of the boat. It is missing the windshield and splash well, but other than that, it is complete. The boat now rests on the Ouachita boat trailer, not the one in the picture. So basically we got a Starcraft JetStar, trailer, and motor for $300.00, plus a pond boat for as long as it floats.

With the help of this site, I restored my 1972 Supersport last year and I am looking forward to jumping in on this challenge. Had to include two pics of my 1972 Supersport restoration that I am so proud of with the removable fishing deck up front and could not have completed without the help of everyone on this site.

Will post pics tomorrow of the gutted hull.

Attachments

• photo22.jpg
    photo22.jpg
    107.5 KB · Views: 2
  • photo24.jpg
    photo24.jpg
    108.3 KB · Views: 2
  • DSC00007.jpg
    DSC00007.jpg
    152.3 KB · Views: 2
  • DSC00009.jpg
    DSC00009.jpg
    147.6 KB · Views: 2
  • DSC00017.jpg
    DSC00017.jpg
    152.9 KB · Views: 2

GT2010

Seaman
Re: Jet Star Rebuild

Missed this photo when attaching!

Attachments

• DSC00011.jpg
    DSC00011.jpg
    152.5 KB · Views: 1

jasoutside

Supreme Mariner

Boy, it'd be a tough call to try and pin down a year on that, especially since it's been repainted. No info on the boat registration or anything?