Is it worth buying a motor with low compression?

ringorock

Cadet
Seems like these things can be had for pretty good prices. I am mechanically included. I'm not a mechanic by trade, but I've never not been able to fix my cars, even complicated repairs. Is there any reason why I'd want too steer clear of one with low compression?

tpenfield

Staff member
Cost of parts may be a deterrent, even though your mechanical skills would be fine.

Crosbyman

Vice Admiral
condition condition condition... well kept engine overall or full of mice P&S

. if low comp is a blown headgasket .....easy decision

if unequal comp. could be just the gasket

peek inside with a small fiberscope camera .... see scarring on the walls ?? or does it look clean

maybe the seller will let you open the cyl head (it is to his advantage to find the cause) on the smaller engines it is no big deal

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
depends......
some johnyrude motors are prone to rings breaking, taking out the bores and pistons.......
some may be stuck rings from sitting......
some may be collapsed pistons and egg shaped bores from over-heating.....

havoc_squad

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Simply put, its not cost effective for the average Joe who doesn't work on this for a living to buy all the specialty tools required AND the very expensive parts to do a full rebuild of a motor from top to bottom. (Assuming all holes must be bored oversized or sleeved and the machine shop work is done by someone else)

If you get a remanufacturered powerhead from a reputable builder that provides a solid warranty, many are actually fairly competitive in price with what it takes to do it.

Sure, you could hit the lottery in buying a motor with low compression and using a scope camera to see what it might be. However 98% of the time as said above its a broke ring, overheat damage, etc that requires expensive work.

oldboat1

Fleet Admiral