Intake manifold gasket sealant???

duped

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hi, I am in the process of replacing intake manifold gaskets on merc 230 v8. What type of sealant is best to use, and where, how much, etc...bought Mallory marine gasket kit.

Been getting water in the oil past two trips. Can't be a crack, I winterized properly (drains pulled completely and holes chased with nails, all hoses removed, stored dry) every year for the past 4 years I've owned it. Also been using the boat a lot this season and the problem just surfaced well after the weather has been warm. I am to understand this is the only other reasonable cause, and I have never done this job before. Hopefully the leak will be obvious to me once I get the manifold off.

Thank you!

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Intake manifold gasket sealant???

Hi, I am in the process of replacing intake manifold gaskets on merc 230 v8. What type of sealant is best to use, and where, how much, etc...bought Mallory marine gasket kit.

Been getting water in the oil past two trips. Can't be a crack, I winterized properly (drains pulled completely and holes chased with nails, all hoses removed, stored dry) every year for the past 4 years I've owned it. Also been using the boat a lot this season and the problem just surfaced well after the weather has been warm. I am to understand this is the only other reasonable cause, and I have never done this job before. Hopefully the leak will be obvious to me once I get the manifold off.

Thank you!

Ayuh,..... How Much water,..??

I'm not familiar with that gasket set,... The 1s I use have a tracin' of sealant on 'em,...

I toss the end pieces with any of 'em, 'n use silicone sealant,...
I run a nice bead from side to side, 'n let it skin up abit, Then plant the manifold,...

Wipe up any oozin's, 'n torque 'er down,...

Clean gasket surfaces are the Most important link to Success,.... ;)

duped

Petty Officer 1st Class