Impeller Replacement

Daviet

Fleet Admiral
Re: Impeller Replacement

I have used the SIERRA brand, never had any problems. Have heard of MALLORY, but they are not sold at the parts places I deal with so I have no experience with them.

Daviet

Fleet Admiral

Good luck with your pump replacement.

JEBar

Chief Petty Officer

Good luck with your pump replacement.

I have to admit that right now the argument going on in my head is if I should try doing it or take it to a shop .... I've never undertaken such a project and as the saying goes there is nothing but fear holding me back .... that said, the fear side is putting up a pretty intense struggle .. :redface:

Jim

biglurr54

Petty Officer 1st Class

Depending on your motor it shouldnt be too bad. I was in the same "boat" as you were with my motor. I scared the crap out of me but i needed to change mine and financially I couldnt stand the thought of paying someone to do it. I dove into it and it was really easy to do. I have a repair manual and as long as you follow that a monkey could do it. I have a 120 v4 looper. Ive been told most water pumps are the same procedure. The only thing that you can possibly mess up is bending the shaft so just take extra caution when you pull the lower unit from the main case. Its easy to take off and not bend thats just the worst case scenario. Anything else that goes wrong can be fixed easily by any one on here or a mechanic if you decide your in over your head. As far as brand, I went with OEM. It was instock at the local marina. paid a little extra for the convenience and for it to last a little longer than the aftermarket counter part.

JEBar

Chief Petty Officer

I was in the same "boat" as you were with my motor. I scared the crap out of me but i needed to change mine and financially I couldnt stand the thought of paying someone to do it.