Im winterizing, question about battery/storage

mklawz

Cadet
This is my first time winterizing, so Im a little confused on something. I want to shrink-wrap my boat locally but store it remotely. How do I; shrink-wrap it, trailer it with the outdrive up, then lower the outdrive (as recommended for storage) and then remove the battery all while the shrink wrap is on?

It seems to me that this is an issue that has been presented many times over, so Im probably not understanding something very obvious. Again, this is my first time.

Thanks

BARKLEY

Banned
Re: Im winterizing, question about battery/storage

The outdrive up will be fine. There is no reason to lower it.. Pull your battery, get it wrapped, and call it good. Who ever told you the outdrive needs to be down is wrong!

Bondo

Staff member

This is my first time winterizing, so Im a little confused on something. I want to shrink-wrap my boat locally but store it remotely. How do I; shrink-wrap it, trailer it with the outdrive up, then lower the outdrive (as recommended for storage) and then remove the battery all while the shrink wrap is on?

It seems to me that this is an issue that has been presented many times over, so Im probably not understanding something very obvious. Again, this is my first time.

Thanks

Ayuh,... I think they can put in a little door, for an extra charge of course,...

I've Never, Ever seen a shink-wrapped boat goin' down the road,...
'round here, their wrapped on site..

Bt Doctur

Supreme Mariner

winterize as usuall, remove outdrive for service, shrink wrap, deliver.

BARKLEY

Banned

Ayuh,... I think they can put in a little door, for an extra charge of course,...

Bingo!

Bondo

Staff member

The outdrive up will be fine. There is no reason to lower it.. Pull your battery, get it wrapped, and call it good. Who ever told you the outdrive needs to be down is wrong!

Ayuh,.... I'll argue that point,...

Drive fully Up is the Worst possible thing to do...

Don S