I think I'm going to do it!

eeboater

Commander
I've been doing computer consulting work on the side for about 3 years now. I have a regular 40 hr/wk job that keeps me plenty busy but I like to take the consulting jobs to keep me on my toes knowledge wise. <br /><br />I just spoke with another small business owner and she gave me a few pointers on how to make myself "Legit" and have my own business. I think I'm going to go for it and officially start my business. I've been wanting to do this since I was about 14 or so when I got my first taste of working at my Dad's consulting company.<br /><br />Should be pretty exciting. Hopefully some day it will turn into a full time job!<br /><br />Sean

12Footer

Fleet Admiral
Re: I think I'm going to do it!

Go for it! It sounds like you may have more experience than most in that field have. Good luck.<br />Keep an eye on your six for the IRS. They love to take buisnesses out by the back door.<br />It's a hobby of thiers.

SoulWinner

Commander

Going into business for ourselves was the BEST thing we ever did. Taxes will really blow, but the benefits of self employment FAR outweigh the taxes and self insurance expenses! Congrats!!! We wish you the very best!

Boomyal

Supreme Mariner

Good luck EE. IMHO, you are exhibiting one of the most laudable American characteristics. Proud of ya!

eeboater

Commander

Tx Guys. Boom, its funny you mention that. The only reason I haven't done it earlier is because of the Feds. I have been afraid that I would screw up on my taxes and have the Feds going *knock knock* on my back door. <br /><br />I can't wait. I'm only 25, so I have a LOT of time to work this thing out.<br /><br />Sean

62_Kiwi

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Yep, go for it eeboater! Sounds like the situation I was in many years ago. My computer hobby turned into my job and my job turned into my business. Never looked back or regretted it. :)

jtexas

Fleet Admiral