How to fill up my livewell?

derek7467

Cadet
Greetings, ive been reading this forum for a while now and figured i need to sign up!

Im new to the boating world and just purchased my first 97' 16' Smokercraft Pro Mag.

I already fixed her all up; rewired dashboard, installed my transducer, VHF radio, Chartplotter (iPhone mounted using EarthNC), along with dashboard lights and an electronic horn.

The boat comes with a livewell and i havent the faintest clue on how to fill her up? The compartment is built as follows:

Has a sealed container (livewell), it has a drain plug at the bottom of it (im assuming to drain the water out). It also has a pump that goes to the port side of the hull well above the water line, which im assuming sucks in the oxygen for the livewell?

Do i manually fill it? Or should the bait pump button do the filling? Where would the water come in from?

If this is too hard to answer with just the info im giving, i can get pictures this weekend. (Finally finishing her up!)

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: How to fill up my livewell?

You mentioned two of the three things that make a livewell work and have a misconception of what one of them is for.