How do you not become "that guy" at the boat ramp?

IHDiesel73L

Seaman
I'm totally new to the boating world-I've been on a few boats, etc...but I've never launched one or brought one back in myself. Is boat ramp etiquette/skills part of most boater safety/licensing courses? Can anyone recommend a good thread or FAQ?

infideltarget

Master Chief Petty Officer
Re: How do you not become "that guy" at the boat ramp?

Also...go to the threads in the "ramp watching" section, and read what NOT to do, and you can also do a forum search on the words "that guy" and "ramp" and you will find MANY threads pertaining to "that guy".

Silverbullet555

Chief Petty Officer

I also recommend the first time you go out, try to take someone with you that has experience. The first few times you might avoid launching and retrieving at the busy times at your ramp.

Finally, don't overlook practicing backing the trailer down the ramp. Many new boaters struggle with this if they don't have experience towing and backing up a trailer. It can be daunting when you are trying to get it in the right place, there are 15 trucks waiting for you and you have to get it between two other boats or trailers.

Augoose

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Since I was just at the ramp a little bit ago and saw some real goofballs, I'll throw in my 2 cents.

1) Use the prep/staging area- that's what its for. Don't be "that guy" who thinks he's only got one or two things to do and he'll be "real quick", so he preps his boat while blocking a ramp spot. If I see you, I'll remind you nicely where the staging area is.
2) Wait your turn. Applies both while waiting for a dock slot and for getting into the line at the ramp. Just because you parked your truck closer to the ramp it doesn't mean that you can "butt in". Do the right thing and drive around and go to the back of the line.
3) Turn down your stereo while putting your boat in the water. Not everyone likes your music, you freak.