Honda Four Strokes?

MT-Tom

Cadet
Hey! This is my first post on this great site. I'm a novice boater so I hope someone can help me out with this. Thanks!<br /><br />I'm thinking about getting a Honda 9.9hp four stroke for my duck hunting boat. My boat is a 14' jon boat with a 36" wide bottom. I use it on the Missouri River in some really cold weather (below zero). I usually have another guy and a dog with me. Can anyone give some advice as to whether this motor would be a good choice for me? I'm also thinking about the Honda 15hp four stroke. My boat doesn't have the info plate on it, but I'm guessing that 15hp is the max. Will the five extra hp gain me much? Or should I just stick to the 9.9? I appreciate any advice you all could give. Thanks a bunch!<br /><br />Tom

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Honda Four Strokes?

Hey, Tom. Either of those engines would do well, but don't buy until you check out the Yamaha 4 strokes as well. Yamaha is outselling Honda in some power ranges. There must be a reason. Compare weight, features and price. Then talk to some users of both.<br /><br />Good Luck.<br />JB
smile.gif

heaty1

Cadet

Yo MT-TOM I've got a Honda 5hp 4 stroke motor that I LOVE, awesome on gas and easy to start (first pull alot). I've had it about 1 1/2 months and put an easy 25-30 hours on it already and still have over 1 gallen of fuel left out of four gallens. <br />I also have a 14ft Jon/duck boat. If you can handle the $$ get the 15hp it will push you very nicely (fast) the 9.9hp will work fine also, Good luck.. Heaty

savage

Cadet

Experience has proven to me that nobodys boat goes too fast or has too much horsepower!!

JB

I lost a dear friend to very cold water when duck hunting. He was going too fast and hit a floating log. Fast is not always good. In the summer he could have paddled ashore, or even waded. Cold is deadly and speed is risky.<br /><br />JB
frown.gif

MT-Tom

Cadet