Holes in the bilge area under the deck?

blackwaterstout

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I'm new to boats and just aquired my first one last month. It's an old MFG bass boat that I got cheap. The floor of the boat is a little soft in places and is probably rotted out. I can walk on it but it feel like someday I might fall through. I plan on tearing that floor out this winter and putting in new stringers and flooring. <br /><br />I was having a look at the boat and noticed that in the bilge area there are 3 small holes about the size of a dime that drain the area under the floor. Obvisouly water has gotten in there over the years and caused the floor to rot. My question is why does the boat have these? I would think that if the floor was placed on the boat and fiberglassed in then the area would've been water tight and would never of had a chance to rot. With the current setup if I take on a bit of water it can actually flow into one of those holes and get under the floor. I don't really understand this concept. I'd think it would be better to have the floor put in without holes and maybe some boyancy foam to help it float better. <br /><br />Can someone explain why those holes are put there?

bigboy

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: Holes in the bilge area under the deck?

Hmmm, i would always put drain holes. You never know. Imagine you close it all and there is a little crack in your hull of a hole. The wather comes in but cant escape. When you've got drain holes it is also closed but you have at least the chance of take them out and you'll never know maybe one day there can be wather in a room under the floor. I'm currently restoring a fletcher but i'm going to make also a few holes so i can drain the area. If it's completely closed forget about attach your chairs with screws or something else....

crab bait

Captain