Hi everyone!

bowrider

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hi! newbie here...just wanted to introduce myself and my new toy...
My name is Juan and I just got this '82 16' Cobia Charger, it has a 1978 115hp Evinrude, I got it from a friend that needed to sell due to the birth of his 2nd son. Anyhow, it's the first boat I OWN, eventhough I've been around water and boats all my life, I never owned one. I paid $1125.00 which I think is a fair price. The boat/motor isn't perfect, and I'm planning to do some work before throw it in the water.
Here's where ya'lls expert advice comes to the rescue....if anyone has some specific things I got to check/do etc, please feel free to let me know....last time this boat was in the water eas in summer 2005....I basically will use it for cruising, and I want to teach my sons to ski, and maybe some fishing....
Thanks for your time, I know i'll be around......here some pics....
Juan

37b6_1.jpg

bd2e_1.jpg

5563_1.jpg

7110_1.jpg

4222_1.jpg

Dunaruna

Admiral
Re: Hi everyone!

[colour=blue]Hi Juan, welcome to iboats!! Nice boat.

Whatever specific questions you may have, there is someone here to answer them.

Think safety first and you and your family will have a great time, enjoy!

8)

crazy charlie

Vice Admiral

Welcome to iboats!!! The first thing I would recommend doing is a compression check on the motor to establish a baseline as to how it runs.Charlie

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner

Even if the engine needs some work, the hull and trailer seem to be in good condition. I think you got a good deal.

Good boat to teach the kids to waterski but as they get older, I think you'll find it getting a little small. --Couple of skis, a tube, a cooler, picinic basket (Yogi Bear for those of you old enough) Next thing you know, the boat is filled to overflowing.

Last photo, looks like she is setting low in the water. Hope that's not full throttle.

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner