Help!!!!!volvo Penta aq125a inboard aq270 outboard

Cjp13021

Seaman Apprentice
Took my 84 bayliner capri out on the lake and drove up the river Thru the locks and back probably 30 plus miles. Boat has Volvo penta aq125a engine and aq270 outboard. On the way back I noticed the boat bogging down. When I hit the throttle wide open the boat would kind of chug like it wanted to stall. I couldn’t go up past 8mph or it would bog down and act weird. When I got to the dock I noticed that my exhaust flap was missing. I just changed this flap this summer. Rivets popped off I guess. Engine was running the whole time never shut it off . Was not over heating at all. Just got louder on the way back and sounded like it was running rough. Could I have gotten water in the cylinders due to the flap coming off ? What could be the issue? Maybe seaweed stuck inside the prop shaft somewhere ? This was muggy water with lots of algae and seaweed. Not sure what’s going on I’m fairly new to boating. Any help would be appreciated . Could it be bad gas? Gauge was on e but I had just put 12 gallons in it before I went out. I think my gauge is broke. I’m really not sure what the problem could be.

Last edited:

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
Exhaust flap doesn't matter

Did you service the points?
Set dwell with a meter?

Cjp13021

Seaman Apprentice
Exhaust flap doesn't matter

Did you service the points?
Set dwell with a meter?
It’s had a full tune up last year and new bell housing new points new cap …I ran it for like 3 hours along the Oneida river . Like 2 hours in the lake before the river. It was fine all day until the way back to the dock.

Fun Times

Staff member
You mentioned it’s getting louder… In what way? Say Mechanical inside the engine as if something may have broke?

Cjp13021

Seaman Apprentice
You mentioned it’s getting louder… In what way? Say Mechanical inside the engine as if something may have broke?