Glastron GT-150 Ideal Prop for Slalom Skiing

Greetings fellow boat lovers!

I have a propulsion related question that pertains to my Glastron Gt-150.

I bought this boat a few summers ago with the sole purpose of slalom skiing behind it. This past summer was a great one with waterskiing.

However this past summer myself and my skiing partner couldn't help feeling that boat was just lacking a tiny bit of speed. Perhaps 10% faster would have been the ticket. The boat has a 1997 2-stroke 70HP Evinrude on the back. I weigh 170 lbs and my skiing partner weighs slightly less (not that info really matters I suppose).

I come here today for some suggestions as to how to potentially eek out a little more top speed. My first thought is the prop. I am no professional at all when it comes to these things. However, is there a prop you guys can suggest that would produce the fastest top speed. To my knowledge the higher the pitch the higher the top speed. The lower the pitch the greater the torque on acceleration but a slower the top speed. I am thinking I would want a high (or perhaps highest) pitch option to get the top speed up when skiing.

Additionally, I have no idea what the pitch is of my current prop. Perhaps someone could help me out here. Lastly, you can see in the photos my prop and skeg is damaged, I suppose this would have slowed the boat’s top speed somewhat. I am going to look into having a new skeg welded on in this spring.
1646761118355.png

Anyway! Any advice whatsoever would be really appreciated guys! I would love it if I could get even just a little more top speed next summer on the lake!

racerone

Supreme Mariner
I would start with a compression test .-----Post your numbers here.------If you want to go faster with a skier up , then you need a 100 HP motor !

QBhoy

Fleet Admiral