Fuel Gauge Not working for Starcraft Proelite 1800 SC

Army1717

Cadet
Just bought a 2000 Starcraft Proelite 1800 SC. Everythings good except for rear livewell and the fuel gauge. If I could see the fuel tank to check the fuel level it wouldnt be an issue but I cannot. Trying to figure out how to fix the fuel gauge without ripping things apart like a mad scientist and creating more problems. This is my first boat so I am a bit of a novice but usually if I look at something for a while and take my time I can figure it out because i am farely handy. I open the back hatch and I see the circular black piece with a blue and pink/red wire connected. Common sense tells me that this would be the sender. I also assume the sender has the float inside of it that reads the fuel level. Theres 2 screws that secure it in the fuel tank. Fuel level is pretty high in the tank beacuse I filled it up before I took it out so I wasnt "that guY" and ran out of fuel. I took off the connectors and light sanded any corrosion that was in there and plugged them back in and put some of that dielectric grease on the connectors as well. When i turn the boat on or just the power the needle on the fuel guauge kind of moves a little bit up and down but not much so I assume the gauge itself is working its just not getting a good signal from the sender. This is what I figured out so far. I am wondering can I just unplug those connectors and then unscrew the sender and pull it right now. Is it that easy to pull it out? Or does the fuel need to be empty? There is probably some kind of O-ring under that device also to prevent leaking I assume. Also, if I pull the sender out how do I tell if its bad or not? If its clear to the naked eye its messed up and I put in a new one would i secure it down in there and then plug it in so I dont fry something? If the fuel gauge still dont work after I put in a new one it would be electrical. Can someone walk me through de-installing the sender and re-installing it pr