ford f250 vs chevy 2500

boatflounder

Seaman Apprentice
I am new to towing having just bought our first boat ion february, but after bringing it home I realized my 98 f150 wasnt up to the task of an app. 5000 lb load. Am looking to get a new truck once I get thrusome temporary health issues and am not even considering a 1/2 ton anymore. While the newer trucks are more powerful than my old one, I just dont feel comfortable being outsized by my trailer. I want a 3/4 ton just for the size and mass in front of the load to feel more in control.

I am leaning towards a f250 as have been pleased with my 150 and if we hadnt bought the boat would of kept it forever. however just found out my uncle can still get employee pricing for gm products so might be able to get a deal.

I work offshore and fly to work so the truck is only used for pleasure and running errands, so mileage isnt as big an issue as comfort and convenience. We keeep the boat at a storage sghed with a ramp onsite so we normally only tow a couple hundred feet, but would like the ability to travel up and down the coast and explore some different areas.

Any input on convenience and comfort of these trucks will e appreciated.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: ford f250 vs chevy 2500

Both are good trucks. The range of options in the drivetrain and interior include everything from a bare bones work vehicle for well under $30K to a rolling 4 door clubroom for well over $50K.

I personally have always been a Ford man and have never had a bad Ford truck, but I am sure there are many who feel the same way about Chebbys and even (gasp!!) Dodges. There are currently a F350 Diesel, Dodge "Dooley" Diesel and a Tundra in the family. I think I like traveling in the Ford better than the others, but it is a fully blinged out King Ranch edition and the others are more work vehicles.

mrfixitman40

Petty Officer 1st Class