First time boat owner. HELP!

the jimmer

Recruit
OK, Here's the deal. I just picked up a 1973 Arrow glass-Cheetah. 17-footer, V-6-inboard. I am very excited. This is my first boat. Everything on the boat is original and weathered, except for the motor is rebuilt and a new floor was put in by the previous owner, at least that is what I was told. OK, I plan on stripping everything I can take off the boat except the motor for the restoration. Tell me if this sounds like a plan. For the inside walls of the boat, I want to grind it to roughin' it up and and spray a truck bed coating to take care of various spider cracks and I think it will be very durable. OK, that takes care of the inside, but my main concern is the exterior. I paint cars for a living so I have access to any tools I need. From the water-line up I want to put automotive paint and costom graphics using basecoat, clearcoat. Is that OK? From the water line, down I want just put white, but what do I use be sure any small crack and scrapes are taken care of for durability? Please, give me as many tips as you can. Thanks, "The Jimmer"

mutron77

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: First time boat owner. HELP!

Jimmer. Here is a link for you.<br /> http://www.yachtpaint.com/usa/ <br />Scroll down on the left to "boat painting guide"<br />For boats Marine Epoxy resin with fillers is used<br />for hull repairs scratches etc. Much like people use Bondo on a car repair. This site can tell you alot about how Epoxy is used in boat repair.<br /> http://www.westsystem.com/ <br />good luck with you first boat!<br /><br />H90

jfholijr

Petty Officer 2nd Class

funny thing about bondo, it was originally developed for fiberglass repair, now it's preferred for auto's, go figure.

LubeDude

Admiral