First Bass Boat

bjbarron

Cadet
Hey guys just want to show the boat i bought last week. I checked it out pretty good but I'm no expert. I got it from a guy I work with he down graded to a smaller boat. The transom looks and feels solid, no cracks. No flex at all when the motor is shaken or stood on. Didn't find any week spots on the deck. So I'm pretty excited. She looks a little rough because the gel coat is all but gone. He did spray it with a epoxy last year but it yellowed and is started flaking off. I already rewired the bildge pumps and live wells. Needs new lights in the capartments and little stuff but i think it will be worth it. It has a good 150 Mariner Magnum with a stainless 3 blade prop. Oh I think thinnk its a 93 model Bass Cat Pantera II. I havent figured out to tell the year of the motor.

Is there a user friendly clear gel coat out there?

Attachments

• IMAG0199.jpg
    IMAG0199.jpg
    154.6 KB · Views: 0
  • IMAG0201.jpg
    IMAG0201.jpg
    154.2 KB · Views: 0
  • IMAG0202.jpg
    IMAG0202.jpg
    149.3 KB · Views: 0

Bondo

Staff member
Re: First Bass Boat

Is there a user friendly clear gel coat out there?

Ayuh,..... Welcome Aboard,.....

Nope,... Not really any kinda clear coat is gonna fix yer finish....

Sand it Smooth, 'n paint it the color of yer choice....

GT1000000

Rear Admiral

Welcome aboard,

Looks like a nice score...

like Bond-o says, prep and paint...done right will look nice and last a long time....

Enjoy fixin and fishin...

GT1M

FlaCowboy

Ensign

Congrats on your first Bass Boat. Be sure and keep the top side of the boat dry as possible (covered) to prevent future water damage.

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral

Be sure and keep the top side of the boat dry as possible (covered) to prevent future water damage.

X 100!

If it was me, I'd have to have a look below deck towards the transom just to make sure she is good to go. The weathered gel coat tells a story of being exposed to the elements.