fiberglassing a wooden floor

DETaylor

Cadet
This is my first time at doing this. I have taken out my old spongy floor, replaced some bad stringers and a fiberglassed. Now the question is can i paint the bottom of the 1/2" plywood with polyurathane paint to ave time and money or fiberlass to seal the wood ? Now the top needs to be fiberglassed but with how many layers and with what weight of fiberglass? i will seal the seams with 5200 marine caulk.

am i over my head?

81 beachcomber

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: fiberglassing a wooden floor

fairly easy job when you get into it. you should resin the underside to seal it and then glass the topside, one layer of 1.5 oz csm.

Also i would re post this in the "building and resto" section, lots of knowlege and help there, a moderater may move this thread there. Good luck with the project

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner

Skip the caulk. Use marine poly putty for any voids. You want to have a complete seal of the floor to the hull. A good way to install the floor is to lay some strips of saturated cloth over the stringers, lay the new plywood floor over the cloth and stringers and screw the floor into the stringers with SS screws. Now a layer of glass cloth and resin to seal the floor to the hull and you are done.

DETaylor

Cadet
How to attach plywood floor to side

How to attach plywood floor to side

This is my first time at doing this. I have taken out my old spongy floor, replaced some bad stringers and a fiberglassed. Now the question is can i paint the bottom of the 1/2" plywood with polyurathane paint to ave time and money or fiberlass to seal the wood ? Now the top needs to be fiberglassed but with how many layers and with what weight of fiberglass? i will seal the seams with 5200 marine caulk.

thanks for 81 beachcomber reply.