Evinrude rebuild

grotmeister

Seaman Apprentice
Hi all! just about to rebuild my 60hp twin 1980's powerhead. Had it rebored and head skimmed after a meltdown a while ago. I've got a clymer manual but not sure its much good, any advice? I've never worked on marine engines before! but a fair amount of automotive experience over the years. many many questions to come!!! Cheers in advance

Dhadley

Supreme Mariner
Re: Evinrude rebuild

Welcome!!<br /><br />Be very very careful with a head thats been cut for that motor. If its been cut much at all you might want to think about richening up the carbs. .010 is a lot and about as much as you want to go. If you decked the block too then you probably should rejet. Make darn sure you use cool Champion plugs.

grotmeister

Seaman Apprentice

Hi Dhad, thanks for that. The head looked like the surface of the moon so I had it welded and skimmed, I don't think too much came off it. By the way do I need to do anything to the new bores before installing the pistons?

jy118lfd

Chief Petty Officer

Listen to dhadley (I don't think) sounds like a set up for disaster. There are plenty of good used parts around. If the head has any pits in the chamber, a lot on this site will say it is trash. Carbon will get in there and turn red hot and set up detonation couple that with a cut head and you have a recipe for piston lunch. You will have Too much work involved to just think. :D

Dhadley

Supreme Mariner

Not quite sure by what you mean about the "new bores". If the block has been bored it should have been finished honed and deburred. <br /><br />It almost sounds like an automotive machine shop did the boring. If so be careful. In any case find out what they used for a finished bore size. Not just ".020 or .030 over". You need to know exactly what the finished bore size is (actual measurement to .0000 at room temperature).<br /><br />Did you find out what caused the first "meltdown"? If not you may be in for a repete performance.