Engine Won't Turn Off - Repeatable Behavior

BOOSTER-X

Cadet
In Sept of last year, I acquired a 1984 16.5' Bayliner Cuddy with a 1974 Johnson 115 motor. The engine sat up against a tree for about 4 years and I had a guy rig it for me. To his amazement, the engine started and ran well. I'm new at this and only had the boat out 3 times last fall.<br /><br />EVERY TIME I took it out, after running it out in the bay for 10 - 15 min, when I tried to turn it off....nothing. I tried to choke it with the choke switch....no sound, no electromechanical choke. So I would take the cowling off and physically move the choke to kill the engine. <br /><br />Of course, now with my 12 and 13 yr. old sons and our puppy with me I thought to myself, "Gee, I wonder if it will start now?" And here's where my blood turned to icewater...you guessed it....nothing from the key start and no sound with the choke switch.<br /><br />I proceeded to grab and squeeze together, move around and/or wiggle every wire and connection, etc, visible with the cowling off. And then....tried to start it....and it started. So then, I decided not to turn it off again and just run it till the gas was gone.<br /><br />I say this was repeatable in my subject line, because this happened basically EXACTLY the same way each of the 3 times I took it out.<br /><br />After the 2nd time, I did a thorough search for solutions on this site. Most of the solutions/suggestions consisted of checking wire connections and checking for ground wire problems. So I unscrewed, cleaned and re-tightened every wire I could find. On my 3rd launch, I was hoping I wouldn't have this happen again, but....same EXACT scenario. Of course this time, I took my wife with me and she couldn't deal with the smell, since I wouldn't shut the engine off after the "take the cowling off and wiggle the wires/connections" technique.<br /><br />Sorry this took so long (I wanted to give you all the details/clues) but my questions are...<br /><br />Has anyone