Engine swap questions

jallen100

Seaman Apprentice
I am fairly new to boating so this may seem like an obvious or dumb question but here goes.
I have a 1991, 21.5' Thompson with a Mercruiser 4.3L and an Alpha drive.
What would be involved in swapping the 4.3 for a small block chevy outside of obviously changing the mounts and what not?
Is there anything on the motor that has to be specific for use on a boat?
Do I need to change anything over on the drive?
Is it even worth while to swap it?
Its a fairly big boat and I feel its a little under powered with the 4.3. It does have a 4bbl carb and runs about 38-40 wide open, but thats buzzing the motor pretty good. It just seems to take a while to get on plain and get up to speed. I did switch from a 17 to a 19 prop which seemed to take even more away from it but it was at around 5600 rpm's all out with the 17, although it did get on plaing much faster.

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Engine swap questions

What would be involved in swapping the 4.3 for a small block chevy outside of obviously changing the mounts and what not?

Ayuh,.... At a Bare Minimum, ya need a fully dressed Marine 350, 'n regear the drive ratio...

Is Lightenin' the Load a possibility,..??
Lotta junk accumulated,..??
Hull growth,..??
Wet foam,..??

jallen100

Seaman Apprentice

Ayuh,.... At a Bare Minimum, ya need a fully dressed Marine 350, 'n regear the drive ratio...

Is Lightenin' the Load a possibility,..??
Lotta junk accumulated,..??
Hull growth,..??
Wet foam,..??

I guess that is my main question. What makes a marine 350 a "marine 350"? What is so different from a normal automotive engine?

I dont think I have much room to lighten the boat at all. Its just a big, heavy boat. The boat alone has to weigh at least 3,000 lbs.

I am kind of wondering why that boat would have even came with a 4.3 option. I mean its not terrible but it could deffinitly use the boost.

Bondo

Staff member