Docking with twin I/Os

partskenn

Petty Officer 1st Class
Just bought a new boat, 2000 Maxum 3000scr. Beautiful, or at least until time to dock it. I graduated from a single I/O to the twin I/Os, and so far I'm on the wrong side of the learning curve. I know that with twin inboards, people say to leave the wheel alone, and do it all with the transmissions. With the I/Os, some people tell me that I should do the same and turn with just the engines, so people say to still use the wheel and just goose one engine or the other to help it turn. The only time that I have tried to back it in the slip so far, I ended up using wheel, throttles, the piling off to the side, and most of my friends, and it was still very, very ugly. For those of you with twin I/Os, how do you do it? Thanks

Levinz11

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: Docking with twin I/Os

I have no answer for you but I have seen some captains straight J-turn huge boats right into docks in FL and stop right on a dime. It's impressive.

Fireman431

Rear Admiral

I have run a 30' twin I/O and currently a 40' with twin inboards. I'm going to assume that you have counter-rotating props. Center the wheel and leave it alone. Approach your destination docking from upwind or upcurrent if possible. You'll have much better control that you will going with the wind or current.

Approach nothing any faster than you are comfortable hitting it. When you're ready to make your turns, remember:

1) Port shifter forward / starboard shifter reverse = spins to starboard in the boats own length
2) Port shifter reverse / starboard shifter forward = spins to port in the boats own length
3) Port neutral / starboard forward = wide arc to port
4) Port forward / starboard neutral = wide arc to starboard