Docking, putting the boat in the water and pulling out of the water.

TonyR64

Cadet
I've read a few threads on here about observations from people about others follies about the above subjects. I've also read some from people making fun of us newbies trying to do the same (yes, you were all rookies at one time). I'm new to boating, but I use common sense when doing these activities. But it would be nice to hear from some of the more experienced on how to do this....properly, in case some of us are missing something.

For some of us, it's the disbelief that folks would spend so much money on a boat and never take the time to learn the proper ways to use them. In some cases, that also leads to dangerous use of said boats and injuries.

There really should be a sticky about the proper way to launch and retrieve a boat, but with the variety of boats it would have to read like a choose-your-own-adventure series. Boat type, trailer type (bunks vs rollers), and many other factors make a one-size-fits-all sticky a difficult undertaking but probably worth the effort nonetheless.

I didn't grow up with boats but went out with others enough to learn the basics. Then I bought a $300 boat/trailer and practiced on my own when others weren't around so that I wouldn't get in other peoples' way if I needed to take my time. I joined iBoats and a few other forums and quickly soaked up countless bits of wisdom and advice. I can now quickly launch and retrieve with the best of them, using a system that works for my rig.

My best advice is to ask for help, take seasoned boaters with you in the beginning to help and teach, and never do things faster than you can safely do them. I used to have a launching and retrieving checklist. It really helped set a pattern. I highly recommend it for beginners. You never want to forget any critical steps just to look good.

kjsAZ

Chief Petty Officer
As Caveman said the best way is to take someone with you who is in the know the first few times.