Deck Replacement on my Power Cat

thedeeg918

Cadet
I have just discovered that the deck of my boat is completely rotten out.The previous owner had covered it with plywood and re-carpeted it. I am a complete newbie to boating, but something didnt seem right about the way it handle across the water. About 2 days ago I noticed a drip from under the boat. A small fracture in a previous patch was leaking.
With that I decided to pull the floor up. What I found was a rotten wood and water logged foam.
I am in the process of removing the old floor right now. Carefully cutting it around the edges and pulling it up.
There is nothing about that deck that will not need replaced. I have purchased the material to redo the fiberglass. Still need to take measurements to see what wood needs bought. Really it doesnt look like alot to it. Other than trying to locate a store that sells foam.
When I buy wood , should I get treated lumber? There are 3 pieces ( 2 - 1x4 / 1 - 1x6 ) that run the length of the stringers and then plywood for the deck.
As far as foam goes , will styrofoam blocks be ok to use?

My PC is having trouble uploading photos. I will try again in a bit.

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral
Re: Deck Replacement on my Power Cat

Buying your foam online will be your best bet, this place has good prices and service:
http://www.uscomposites.com/foam.html

Don't use pressure treated lumber, it is very wet inside and your fiberglass resin won't penetrate or boand. Use a good quality exterior grade plywood like ABX.

You should take core samples from your stringers and transom too, usually when the deck is rotten on a glass boat so are the stringers and transom.

Lots of A-holes do the cover up the rotten stuff with new plywood and carpet to unload a rotten boat thing, they should be flogged within an inch of their lives!

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner