Complete novice wondering about what to look for in a boat (offshore California)

acarleson

Seaman
Hello there! I am a novice boater (i.e. basically zero knowledge) wondering what to look for in a boat that can go ~8 miles off the coast of Central California. This is a bit of an odd situation, so before I put my foot in my mouth and make it look like I am being totally unsafe, maybe I should explain :)

I am working on a grant to do research on pinniped (seals, sea lions, etc.) movement near the Gulf of the Farallones off the coast of California?basically, the section of open ocean that is right around San Francisco, although I will likely be just a little south. Part of the grant will be for a research vessel, and it would be used mostly for transportation... we'd spend a few hours at a time out there, but wouldn't be sleeping overnight or anything. We would budget for an experienced boater to do the actual piloting/driving, but since we don't know if we will get the grant, and don't know which university/institution we would be operating through, we haven't started looking for one yet. For this grant, since we're applying through a private institution, we need to budget for our own vessel (liability purposes, I would guess) and we need to be fairly specific about what kind of vessel, and how much of our budget we needs to be allocated for that purpose.

I hear that this stretch of coast can be particularly treacherous, so I want to make sure we're well equipped. While we would not go out on large, stormy days, in a perfect world, we'd be out 3/4/5 days a week, at least. We will have the luxury of somewhat picking our days, but we won't necessarily be able to wait for a month for the one perfect day, so we're looking for a fairly robust vehicle.